Infographic Category Contests

10 Facts about The Masters and Augusta National

By | source: Apr 8th, 2022

Everybody should be familiar with Augusta and The Masters, regardless of whether you like golf or not, but how many of these 10 facts about The Masters and Augusta did you know?

From 1934-1938 The Masters was known as the Augusta National Invitational.

From 1934-1938, The Masters was known as the “Augusta National Invitational.” The first tournament, which was won by Horton Smith in 1934, was held on a course that only consisted of nine holes. Today the tournament is best known as “The Masters” and is held at Augusta National Golf Club.

Dwight Eisenhower is the only US president to have been a club member at Augusta.

U.S. President Dwight Eisenhower is the only commander-in-chief to have been a member of Augusta National Golf Club as well as being one of its most ardent admirers, playing more than 200 rounds of golf during his time in office. The Eisenhower Cabin, named for him, was built over the course of his two terms and has become a popular retreat for players and their caddies during the tournament’s early rounds.

The Masters has become a symbol of golf’s elite and almost mythical status.

The Masters has become a symbol of golf’s elite and almost mythical status. It is the most prestigious golf tournament in the world. It is one of the four major championships in men’s professional golf and is the first major of the year.

It is also unique among the majors because it is always played at Augusta National Golf Club, a private course that does not allow public play as well as TV cameras on its grounds until after 3pm on Thursday and Friday. Additionally, it has the smallest field of all four majors; this means that there are fewer competitors and therefore less competition on who gets to advance to each round.

The Masters only allows 4 minutes of advertising per hour.

During the month of April, you can’t turn on a television without seeing coverage of The Masters. But what makes this broadcast so special that people are willing to devote an entire weekend to watching grown men play with sticks?

Masters broadcasting is unlike any other sport you’ll find in its commitment to quality. For instance, the tournament only allows 4 minutes of commercial time in every hour, compared to 10 minutes during other tournaments. This means there are more commercials overall—you just get less of them at once.

Jack Nicklaus has the most Masters wins of all time with 6.

  • Jack Nicklaus won the Masters 6 times, in 1963, 1965, 1966, 1972, 1975 and 1986. He is one of only three golfers to have won the tournament 4 times (along with Tiger Woods in 2001, 2002 and 2005 and Arnold Palmer in 1958, 1960 and 1964).
  • To date, no person has ever shot an official score under 60 at the Masters.
  • The first time a golfer shot 59 at Augusta was for fun during a practice round by Ken Venturi on March 27th 1963.
  • Only two players have successfully defended their title since it became a strokeplay tournament: Jack Nicklaus (1965-66) and Tiger Woods (2001-02).

The Masters was the first golf tournament to have bleachers, to be broadcast on the radio, and to be broadcast in high definition on TV.

  • The first live radio broadcast of the Masters was in 1956.
  • The first high-definition broadcast was in 2003.
  • The first bleachers were built in 1935, when the tournament drew a crowd of 10,000 people for the first time.
  • The first TV broadcast was a highlight reel shown to theater audiences two years later (1938).
  • It wasn’t until 1968 that there was a live TV broadcast. If you’ve ever wondered why there are no ads during broadcasts of golf tournaments, it’s because the Masters Tournament pays for everything from production to announcers to give viewers a commercial-free viewing experience.

Former champions have a separate locker room.

Did you know that there’s a special place at Augusta National where former champions can relax? In fact, it’s a members-only area, meaning that only former champions can use it. It is the single most exclusive area in the club, and it is by invitation only.

Once you cross through the doors into this room, you will find two rows of lockers. On each locker is a nameplate on the outside identifying which champion used that locker. Each locker has its own wood plaque with the champion’s name on it and a number that corresponds to his score in his winning year. Once inside their locker, players will find an assortment of golfing equipment as well as clothing and shoes provided by Augusta National. There are also several verdant palms located throughout the room for effect, giving it an understatedly luxurious feel.

Tiger Woods has records for being the youngest champion ever (21 years 3 months) and the widest margin of victory (12 strokes).

In 1997, he became the youngest player to win The Masters at 21yrs, 3 months and 14 days old. This was only his second year as a professional! In 2001, he accomplished another record: widest margin of victory by 12 strokes. He holds the second place for youngest champion (22 years) and largest margin of victory (10 strokes).

He has won The Masters four times; 1997, 2001, 2002 and 2005.

Between 1934 and 2007 there were 18 holes in one.

There were 18 aces between 1934 and 2007. There were no holes-in-one during the first 20 years at Augusta National. The odds of two players getting a hole-in-one on the same hole are 625 million to 1, and the odds of a player making two holes-in-one in one round are 67 million to 1.

The shortest hole to ever be made in one is #12, at just 155 yards. This is not even close to being the longest hole where an ace has been made though as #2 has played host to three different eagles over its storied history… including a double eagle!

Only 3 members have ever won back to back titles. Jack Nicklaus, Nick Faldo, and Tiger Woods.

The Masters is one of the most exciting and competitive tournaments in golf. Only three members have won back-to-back titles. Jack Nicklaus won in 1965 and 1966. Nick Faldo won in 1989 and 1990. Tiger Woods won in 2001 and 2002.